Bikram Yoga – day two of the return

Afer 2 1/2 weeks of doing absolutely no exercise and pretty much eating anything I wanted. I decided that it was time to get back on track. 2 days in a row of bikram yoga. So why Bikram yoga? I tried yoga afew times before but always felt that I struggled trying to see what the instructor was doing while simultaneously getting my limbs into unatural positions (well unatural for me that is) Its not easy trying to see anything when your head is between your legs, the teacher is moving at lightning speeds and everone else pretty much seem to be made of rubber.

Bikram is slow, repetitive (you do everything twice) and the teacher doesn’t really do anything but speak so there’s not alot to watch. Everytime you go, you know what to expect and thus can spend your time trying to get the positions right. Although after many months…I am still struggling.

 

Oh, did I mention the heat? The recommended temperature is minimum 105F degrees and about 40% humidity.” according to Bikram’s site. It feels good to sweat like crazy. It feels good to be forced to drink a lot of water. I haven’t been doing it long enough to judge the benefits. But perhaps the ache in my back and abs is a sign that those muscles are getting a workout.

 

Here’s a diagram of the poses: (taken from http://www.bikram.com.au/bikram_yoga.htm) My new goal is to concentrate on one pose each time I go.
postures.JPG

Having friends go to the same studio helps. If you can’t commit to yourself sometimes commiting to other people is easier πŸ™‚

6 responses to “Bikram Yoga – day two of the return

  1. I started to practice Bikram Yoga with your suggestion 4 months ago and it really made me feel better and healthier. For me, Bikram Yoga wins because there is no head standing πŸ˜›

    Keep it going strong, my friend!

  2. I started my practice less than a month ago, and I am loving every bit of Bikram Yoga.

  3. i tried bikram yoga upon a suggestion of a friend and i love it.
    hopefully i can find time to practice it. my mind is willing
    but my body is weak

  4. I love power yoga. I tried Bikrams, however I found it too hot, and in fact, was quite ill after both sessions. I do believe that some folks just cannot take that kind of heat. But for those who can, go for it πŸ™‚

  5. I think I may have read, Cory, that the sickness some people feel during and after a Bikram class is due to an electrolyte imbalance from all the sweating and there are products that can be taken before class (water is one, I think) that will help. You might want to check it out.

  6. Hi,

    HealthYoga.com is a Yoga Social Network for both the consumer and professional public. The sole purpose of HealthYoga.com is to offer a free outlet to the public for those seeking advice on a variety of yoga related topics from professionals. It is the only social network of its kind, directed specifically towards those in the yoga field with chat and web cam capabilities. I have come across your website and have noticed you link out to great resources online, we would love to be included within the list of great resources you acknowledge online. I appreciate your time and await your response.

    Please email me back with your URL in subject line to take a step ahead and to avoid spam.

    Thank you,
    Kathy
    kathy.healthyoga.com@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

