One pose at a time – the half moon pose

2lg.jpgAfter spending atleast 4 months doing bikram for 2-3 times a week, I have to admit that I am far from ‘getting it down’ But I guess that that’s the whole point, you never perfect it…it just a continuous never ending improvement process. The one pose I really dread…is the half moon pose. Its the second in the series and it absolutely fills me with fear, pain and and a general lack of anticipation.

My arm ache, I don’t know what I am doing…and it seems to be never ending. I can’t get my arms to stay behind my ears and stay there…and I feel pressure in my back (which I know I should probably not be feeling) So I decided to study it , motivate myself and maybe help some other people out at the same time.

(image courtesy of Bikram Missoula)

Half Moon with Hands to Feet
ARDA CHANDRASANA with PADA-HASTASANA

Benefits:

  • Trims fat all over the body” thighs, hips, waist, arms and abdomen.
  • Improves and strengthens every muscle in the central part of the body, especially the back and abdomen.
  • Increases flexibility of the spine
  • Corrects bad posture
  • Promotes proper kidney function
  • Helps cure enlargement of the liver and the spleen
  • Helps cure dyspepsia, and constipation
  • Helps to eleviate lower back pain, bronchial distress, scoliotic deformities, tennis elbow, frozen shoulder

From what I gather:

  • Your wieght is towards the back of your feet.
  • There should be no space between your palms and wrists (I hear this every class, but I have a lot of trouble)
  • You stretch one side of your body while contracting and strengthening the other, reaching side to side and then to the back.

What you should be feeling as you are doing it:

  • This is a STRETCHING POSE. I’ve heard that you should feel the last four vertebrea in your spine lengthen and open. (I don’t think I’ve ever felt my spine lengthen…but sometimes I do feel a stretching in my waist)

I would love more advice on this pose. So if any of you yogis out there want to chime in….please add your comments.

2 responses to “One pose at a time – the half moon pose

  1. I usually have a harder time in camel pose.. I’m so dizzy whenever I try to hold this pose.

    For half moon pose, I find it easier if I keep lifting point of my finger further, like I want to touch something further in one side where I’m bending toward.

  2. this is one of my favorite poses! it’s the one that i can do the best. my advice is to push your hip out to the left before you even start to bend the top half of your body to the right. and vice versa for the other side. good luck!

Leave a Reply

