Team in training – 4 weeks to go

4 weeks to go and I still need to raise another 700. I guess i should concentrate on the fundraising part more than the running at this point.

My donation page: http://pages.teamintraining.org/los/rnr09/tgongsakdi

It’s been a while since my last update. Some of you may have heard about my sprained ankle a month back. Thanks for all your well wishes. I did take a break to properly heal and even tried some aqua jogging which is supposed to be very low impact. Its my 3rd week back and the truth is that I am definitely feeling the 2-3 weeks of not training. Every week I ask myself if running a full marathon is realistic at this point considering that I only have 41 days left to train. When I run and every step hurts I wonder if that is in my mind or in my body? Everyone seems to hurt at this point of the season…I just wonder if they hurt as much as I do 🙂

I did 13.5 miles today and the hardest part was actually NOT running those 1.5 miles that everyone else ran. All in all it was a great day to be out running along the Santa Monica beach. It took me a little over 3 hours.

I am deep into the experience now and learning the very strange things that are marathon specific. I am told to eat carbs…AND salt! I carry around little gel packs of goo that I am supposed to eat every half hour. ( think gatorage turned into a gel) I now own an iron man watch that beeps in two intervals… I wear nine dollar blister proof socks and strap my knees to prevent injuries. Jason accompanies me to the various sports stores and is no doubt continuing to be amused by my purchases and diet changes.

On the fundraising side I am a little over half-way. Thank-you so much to those who have supported me, I know its not easy right now. For those of you who have not had a chance, please try to do so soon. I’ve updated my page with some details regarding how the money donated is used.

Finally, I want to end with a quote from my coach:

“What we can or cannot do, what we consider possible or impossible, is rarely a function of our true capability. It is more likely a function of our beliefs about who we are.”

Anthony Robbins

TALLY: Total miles run since beginning: 116.5 miles, things bought: 1 pair of shoes, 6 pairs of socks, 2 dri-fit shirts, a really dorky water belt, 1 hat, 2 running shorts Injuries: 1 sprained ankle, something in my right knee. Weight lost: 3 lbs (you would think i would lose more) Funds raised: 1,800 (yay)

My donation page: http://pages.teamintraining.org/los/rnr09/tgongsakdi

Leave a Reply

